Fresh FIction Box Not To Miss
Beach Reads: YA Thriller Edition

Finding the perfect beach read is different for every person. Some prefer a nice swoony romance with lots of fluff, and others might prefer a sweeping historical drama to curl up with during vacation. I have a tendency to gravitate towards thrillers in the summer, and YA fiction is bursting with excellent, heart-pounding stories to keep you on your toes. From a missing mother to a liar at an elite school to a mysterious ‘accident,’ here are four YA thrillers that would make a great beach read. THE SAFEST LIES by Megan Miranda Fans of Jennifer Donnelly and E. Lockhart will be captivated by this YA psychological mystery about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past? Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of fear, raised to see danger everywhere. Her mother hasn’t set foot outside their front door in seventeen years, since she escaped from her kidnappers with nothing but her attacker’s baby growing inside her—Kelsey. Kelsey knows she’s supposed to keep a low profile and stay off the grid for their protection, but that plan is shattered when her dramatic car accident and rescue by volunteer firefighter and classmate…

6 Things I Learned About Writing Suspense from Reading Suspense.
Author Guest / June 24, 2016

Looking back now, I realize that every time I picked up a book as a kid, I was learning to write—especially suspense. In junior high, before amazon made just about every book on the planet available, I went to great lengths to find my favorite suspense authors and read everything they wrote. Arguably, some were better than others, but at that time I didn’t even care. As long as there was something unexpected around the corner, I was in. The most memorable experience was with the second book I read by Mary Higgins Clark. I was home alone, sitting on the sofa in a room lit only by the yellow incandescent light of the table lamp next to me. Suddenly, I was looking into a cradle of Clark’s imagination and seeing the pallor of death cover a baby. I jumped. Literally jumped. My heart was racing and I was thirsty, but I was too scared to walk through the dark in the next room to get a drink. That was the first time I ever gave craft a thought, and the first time that I actively mined a sentence for clues to how the author was able to cause that…