Fresh FIction Box Not To Miss

Spotlight on Mary Burton

January 4, 2011

Mary BurtonMARY BURTON CELEBRATES 2011 WITH  BACK-TO-BACK ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

New York Times best selling author Mary Burton unleashes a memorable cast of characters in her back-to-back romantic suspense novels SENSELESS (just published) and MERCILESS (arriving January 25th). They include Homicide Detectives Deacon Garrison and Malcolm Kier(DYING SCREAM), convicted felon Eva Rayburn, and her half-sister, attorney Angie Carlson. And, as always, Burton’s signature attention to forensic detail and law enforcement procedure are in evidence.

In SENSELESS, Eva’s part-time job at a shelter brings her to the attention of Deacon Garrison when an explosion destroys the building. The search for evidence uncovers the body of a woman who has been tortured, murdered and branded. Enter journalist Connor Donovan. He’s desperate to resuscitate his flagging career when he gets a tip about the case and its similarities to the Sorority House Murder, the investigation that brought him fame and sent Eva to prison. As Donovan drags Eva back into the media spotlight, Garrison, certain she’s connected to  the murder, is determined to find out how.

In MERCILESS Burton ratchets the suspense up even higher when Kier and Angie come up against a psychopath who leaves behind the perfectly preserved bones of his victims. Kier—and most of Alexandria law enforcement—believe the murderer is Dr. James Dixon.  They blame Angie for getting him acquitted in the past. Today, less sure of Dixon’s innocence, Angie believes the police may be right—she helped free a killer.  Leads are going nowhere when a young man claiming to be Eva’s half-brother turns up with their dead father’s diary.  Two things become clear—the killer always intended to make Angie his ultimate victim, and the trail once again leads to the Sorority House Murder.

For more about the Mary and her books, please visit www.maryburton.com and follow her on Facebook.  She can be reached via e-mail at maryburton4@me.com

And here’s a peek at Mary Burton’s life and writing from Kensington Books and Open Road Media

“Dark, intense and twisted, Burton’s writing leaves an indelible mark on the genre…Powerful characterization and expertly calculated plotting will have readers at Burton’s mercy, turning the pages anxious to read what happens next.”

—RT Book Reviews (4 Stars)

“[A} fast-paced thriller with a touch of romance…[with] memorable characters, a complex plot, and no-nonsense dialogue, this excellent novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Gardner and Lisa Jackson.”

Library Journal

“[A]taut, well-paced novel…[an] appealing protagonist with a strong supporting cast.”

Publishers Weekly

“Absolutely chilling.”

—Brenda Novak

And already in for MERCILESS from Library Journal

“This chilling thriller is an engrossing story.”

SENSELESS
SENSELESS
January 2011
MERCILESS
MERCILESS
February 2011

No Comments

Comments are closed.