Fresh FIction Box Not To Miss

Award Season is Here!!!!

April 18, 2011

Spring and summer are awards season in the book world, with many of the major genre fiction award winners being announced. The finalist lists are a good place to find new-to-you authors who are considered by their peers or fans to be at the top of their genre.

The Edgar Awards, honoring the best in the mystery genre, will be announced April 28. You can find the list of nominees by clicking here.

The Nebula Award winners are chosen by the members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. They’ll be announced May 21, and the nominees are listed here.

The Stoker Awards honor excellence horror fiction. The winners will be announced June 18, and more information can be found here.

The Rita Awards for romance fiction are judged by members of Romance Writers of America. Winners will be announced July 1, and a full list of finalists can be found here.

The Hugo Awards in science fiction/fantasy are nominated by and voted on by attendees and members of the World Science Fiction Convention. The Hugo finalists will be announced April 24, and the winners will be announced August 20. I’m a voting member this year, so I’ll be getting my reading list for the next month or so when those finalists are announced. For more information and a list of finalists when they’re announced.

Most of these awards are presented at conferences and conventions, though you have to be registered for the conference to attend the ceremony. Some of these conferences do include events open to the public, such as booksignings, where you can meet the nominated authors.

Shanna Swendson writes “Fairy Tales for Modern Times” and is the author of the Enchanted, Inc. series about a Texan in New York City, a magical NYC. Visit her website or blog for more information.

No Comments

Comments are closed.